The Life of a Pepper Farmer

I thought I would share my first experience with growing peppers here in Wisconsin. I remember gardening when I was growing up. My parents had a garden every year, and we kids would help. Now, though, both red and yellow peppers have gotten so expensive in the stores!

Last April I found a great local nursery called Stuarts in Oshkosh. Towards the end of the month, they had their red pepper seedlings in stock. The people there were really helpful, and we bought 4 red pepper plants and some fertilized soil. We wanted to use buckets, so we wouldn’t have to dig up the lawn.

With some thoughts and recommendations from Stuarts, we went to Lowe’s and got 4 big buckets. We drilled holes in the bottom, partly filled them with Styrofoam peanuts (for drainage), and added dirt. What with moving here last year, we had plenty of the peanuts! Next, we put one seedlings in each bucket.

I was out there watering faithfully, starting in the Spring, and moving into the summer. Not much happened. But then, very slowly, they started to grow. One was pretty slow, and we weren’t sure how it would work out. It was fun seeing Mother Nature do her work, and sure enough, the slow one did catch up, as you’ll see in the pictures.

Here are 3 collage’s showing the whole adventure, from the beginning until harvest. If you click on each image you can see how much they grew along the way. We ended up having 12 red peppers, with each plant growing three full-size peppers. It was a lot of fun, and I’m planning on doing it each year. Enjoy!

peppers,garden,landscaping

peppers,garden,landscaping

peppers,garden,landscaping

Hope you enjoyed seeing them. They are delicious and a bit sweeter then the ones you get at the store!

18 thoughts on “The Life of a Pepper Farmer

  1. mmmm – they look great and loved seeing the progress!
    banana peppers are my favorite to grow – my first banana pepper plant was a chance thing – I was second year gardening and threw one in the ground near a Butterfly bush and couple other things – my other veggies had a slightly raised bed and that was my focus! well that pepper plant was so fertile – we have so many away – ate them – froze them – and the next year I planted about 4 more and they never did as well as the first year – not sure if it was the soil – the plant – the location – but the first one that year was so extra special – πŸ˜‰
    after a couple years later – I went to mostly containers and had a couple different pepper plants – however – I don’t have any this year – taking a break from gardening – but do have some things coming back on their own – and have some herbs like basil and parsley –
    oh and the buckets in blue are a fun color ! 🌱🌱🌱🌱

  2. Thanks and enjoyed hearing about your banana pepper. I bet that some years are better then others. We had a cool Spring here which slowed things down. Yes, decided to go with containers since we are renting this house and glad that it worked. Have thought about planting herbs but haven’t yet. Thanks for reading and nice comment!

  3. Thanks for sharing your pepper growing adventure. It’s great to see their progress from seedling to harvest. I love the bucket idea and so glad you got 12 wonderful, home grown peppers to enjoy. Awesome job! πŸ‘

  4. well a container of herbs is super easy and can last well into winter. and you can buy starters – which I find helpful for parsley –
    anyhow, a big mistake I made was digging in ground for my early garden – I ended up bringing in so much soil and compost and ended up raising the area by almost a foot – when containers – or a raised bed to start – would have been way more effective and easier. But we live and learn …..
    πŸ™‚

  5. πŸ™‚ – and side note – I am also enjoying my break from gardening – love it soon much – but it can be a time sucker – and so that is one perk of the break this last couple years…. πŸ™‚

  6. Good for you, Kathy! You’ve got a green thumb I see. I bet those peppers are the best darn peppers you have ever eaten! Big smiles and congrats on your first harvest of a labor of love! ❀

  7. maryrussel

    One year I planted jalapeno peppers and cherry tomatoes in pots on the deck by the back door. The walking stomach, Cookie, used to grab a tomato every time she went outside to do her duty. She tried a pepper once and spit it out. Even the birds and squirrels left them alone. Your peppers do look delicious. I love stuffed peppers.

  8. Yes, plants are fun to grow. Smiling at the walking stomach, Cookie πŸ™‚ Being that we are out in the country we get deer and wildlife. Part of the reason that I planted peppers. We also like stuffed peppers.

  9. Wow, look at you growing your own peppers!! I just now am seeing this post?? I can’t believe how expensive the red and yellow peppers are either!! They finally went on sale last week, and we bought a bunch and had them with hummus! Yummy….

  10. Thanks, Laurie. Really had fun growing them and plan on doing it each year. Yes, insane how much they charge for them and we normally buy them when they are on sale,also. Glad you enjoyed the post!

Leave a Reply

